CITY OF McMINNVILLE

MINUTES OF SPECIAL CALLED CITY COUNCIL MEETING

Held via Zoom Video Conference and at the Kent L. Taylor Civic Hall on Gormley Plaza McMinnville, Oregon

Monday, May 8, 2023 at 4:00 p.m.

Presiding: Remy Drabkin, Mayor

Councilors: Present Absent

Adam Garvin, Council President

Kellie Menke (via Zoom) Zack Geary (via Zoom)

Chris Chenoweth

Jessica Payne (via Telephone)

Sal Peralta (via Zoom)

Also present were City Manager Jeff Towery, Special City Legal Counsel Bill Kabeiseman (via Zoom), City Recorder Claudia Cisneros, Information Technology Director Scott Burke, Community Development Director Heather Richards, and members of the News Media –Jerry Eichten, McMinnville Community Media, and Scott Unger, *News-Register (via zoom)*.

- 1. CALL TO ORDER: Mayor Drabkin called the meeting to order at 4:09 p.m. and welcomed all in attendance.
- 2. PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE

Commissioner Kit Johnston led the pledge of allegiance.

- 3. ORDINANCE
- 3.a. Consider the second reading of **Ordinance No.** 5131: An Ordinance Denying the Request for a Certificate of Approval for Demolition of Historic Resources at 609, 611 and 619 NE Third Street, Denying the Request for Downtown Design Review, and Adopting a Decision Document with Findings to that Effect.

Mayor stated the ordinance did not have unanimous support at the May 5th Special Called Meeting requiring a second reading to be conducted at a separate meeting and asked if any Councilor would like the ordinance to be read in full. No Councilor present requested that the ordinance be read in full.

Special Legal Counsel Kabeiseman read by title only for a second time Ordinance No. 5130.

Councilor Geary MOVED to adopt Ordinance No. 5131, Denying the Request for a Certificate of Approval for Demolition of Historic Resources at

609, 611, and 619 NE Third Street, Denying the Request for Downtown Design Review, and Adopting a Decision Document with Findings to that Effect; SECONDED by Council President Garvin. Motion PASSED 4-3 by the following vote:

Aye – Councilors Geary, Garvin, Payne, and Mayor Drabkin Nay – Councilors Menke, Chenoweth, and Peralta

4. ADJOURNMENT: Mayor Drabkin adjourned the meeting at 4:17 p.m.

Claudia Coneros

Claudia Cisneros, City Recorder