## McMinnville Fire District

Minutes of Board Meeting

Held via Zoom Video Conference and at McMinnville Fire Station, McMinnville Oregon

Tuesday July 5, 2023, at 4:00 p.m.

Directors: <u>Present</u> <u>Absent</u>

Adam Garvin Ray Pratt Brian Smith (via zoom) Dan Sparrow Josh Traff

Also present were Fire Chief Rich Leipfert, Assistant Chief Amy Hanifan, Fire Marshal Ty Darby, Donna Fleischman, Attorney Truman Stone, County Commissioner Kit Johnson, Dale Sprock, Randy Johnson, Lisa Terry Jerry Terry, Carter Garvin, Janet Lee Redmond.

**Call to Order**: Chief Leipfert called the meeting to order at 4:01p.m.

**Changes to the agenda:** 2 Staff reports, requesting the Fire Chief be appointed as Budget Officer, and Clerk/Recorder.

**Consent Agenda/Approval of Minutes:** No previous minutes to approve.

Financial Report: No report

**Swearing in of New Board Members:** All 5 board members were present and sworn in.

## **Election of Board Officers:**

<u>President:</u> Adam Garvin nominated by Brian Smith, seconded by Josh Traff. Adam Garvin elected unanimously.

<u>Vice-President:</u> Brian Smith nominated by Dan Sparrow, seconded by Adam Garvin. Brian Smith elected unanimously.

<u>Treasurer:</u> Josh Traff nominated by Dan Sparrow, seconded by Brian Smith. Josh Traff elected unanimously.

<u>Secretary:</u> Ray Pratt nominated by Josh Traff, seconded by Dan Sparrow. Ray Pratt elected unanimously.

# **Identifying Board Position Numbers and Drawing Lots for Terms**

President Garvin directed Chief Leipfert to manage the drawing of terms and positions by numbered chips.

Position 1 (4-year term) drawn by Vice President Brian Smith

Position 2 (2-year term) drawn by Dan Sparrow

Position 3 (4-year term) drawn by President Adam Garvin

Position 4 (2-year term) drawn by Secretary Ray Pratt

Position 5 (4-year term) drawn by Treasurer Josh Traff

**Public Comment:** President Garvin called for statements from citizens.

#### **Business:**

a) Motion to appoint the Fire Chief as Budget Officer Time: 4:23 p.m. (20:50)

Director Dan Sparrow made a motion and Vice President Brian Smith seconded to appoint the Fire Chief as Budget Officer. Motion passed unanimously.

- b) Motion to appoint the Fire Chief as Clerk/Recorder.
   Vice President Brian Smith made a motion and Treasurer Josh Traff seconded to appoint Fire Chief as Clerk/Recorder. Motion passed unanimously.
- c) Approval of Engagement Letter and Billing Memo, and Waiver of Conflict agreement for Proposed Legal Services.

Time: 4:24 p.m. (23:22)

Secretary Ray Pratt made a motion and Treasurer Josh Traff seconded to approve the proposed agreement for legal services. Motion passed unanimously.

d) Resolution 2023-01 adopting Joinder to SDIS Trust Agreement Time: 4:25 p.m. (24:25)

Treasurer Josh Traff made a motion and Director Dan Sparrow seconded to approve the resolution adopting the Joinder to SDIS Trust Agreement. Motion passed unanimously.

e) Resolution 2023-02 adopting IGA with the City of McMinnville for temporary Fire and Emergency Response Services.

Time: 4:27 p.m. (26:06)

Resolution was tabled pending further discussion and revisions. Action item to be reviewed at next meeting July 11, 2023.

f) Resolution 2023-03 authorizing the Fire Chief to establish a bank account and online banking.

Time: 4:42 p.m. (41:00)

Vice President Brian Smith made a motion and Treasurer Josh Traff seconded to authorize the Fire Chief to establish a bank account and online banking. Motion was passed unanimously.

Citizen Randy Johnson asked question regarding banking decision. Chief Leipfert stated consideration was given to make sure bank meets State Laws

- g) Board regular meeting schedule Second and Fourth Thursday of every month at 6 p.m. Secretary Ray Pratt made a motion and Director Dan Sparrow seconded to approve the board meeting schedule.
- h) Chief Leipfert brought forward Letters of appreciation to City of McMinnville and Yamhill County to be sent from the McMinnville Fire District Board. Board approves sending the letters after a couple suggested edits.

Other Business: None

## Information

- a) Division/Department Reports
  - I. Fire Chief Report: Chief Leipfert submitted his resignation effective October 1, 2023. Administrative staff including Assistant Chief Amy Hanifan, Fire Marshal Ty Darby, and Office Manager Donna Fleischman gave the board a brief overview of the duties and tasks they perform for the department.
  - II. International Association of Firefighters (IAFF) Local 3099: No report
  - III. McMinnville Volunteer Firefighters Association: No report

b) Correspondence: None

c) Next Meeting: July 11, 2023, at 6 p.m.

## **Good of the Order:**

Citizen Dale Sprock asked questions about new Districts website, emails, and meeting calendars. President Adam Garvin restated that those items are still being decided. In the interim citizens can contact Adam at his public cell number (503-560-8281 and his public email, <a href="mailto:adam.garvin@mcminnvilleoregon.gov">adam.garvin@mcminnvilleoregon.gov</a>.) Meeting notices are posted toe the City of McMinnville's website and on the Fire Department page through the City's website.

**Meeting adjourned:** 5:24 p.m. (1:24:33)