RESOLUTION NO. 2016 - 71___

A Resolution appointing members to the McMinnville Committee for Public Art.

RECITALS:

In partnership with the City of McMinnville, the McMinnville Downtown Association Committee for Public Art (MDACPA) was established in 2007 with the goal of placing quality art pieces in public places to give citizens and visitors to historic downtown McMinnville an opportunity to interact with art as an integral part of the design of the community.

The MDACPA's efforts have resulted in the installation of many culturally significant pieces of art in the McMinnville Downtown Historic District. The art collection of McMinnville represents a cultural, recreational, and educational resource that is held in trust for the public. The art collection is significant to McMinnville's quality of life and complements the City's mission of enhancing the lives of its citizens.

To promote the continuing development and maintenance of the art collection within the Downtown Historic District and extend that work throughout the City, the MDA and the MDACPA have requested that the City create a new McMinnville Committee for Public Art (McMinnville CPA), to serve as a successor to the MDACPA.

The City created the McMinnville CPA by an Ordinance effective October 27th, 2016 and called for the appointment of five (5) at large members and one (1) representative of either the McMinnville Downtown Association (MDA) or Visit McMinnville (VM) who, along with the chair of the MDA Design Committee, shall comprise the governing body of the Committee.

The current members of the MDACPA have served the Committee with distinction and it is the desire of the City Council to have those members continue their service to the citizens of McMinnville by appointment to the McMinnville CPA.

NOW THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE COMMON COUNCIL OF THE CITY OF McMINNVILLE, OREGON as follows:

1. The City Council appoints the following volunteers to the McMinnville Committee for Public Art:

Edwina Castle (at large position) Mitch Horning (at large position) Stuart Jacobson (at large position) Sharon Morgan (at large position) Steven Rupp (at large position) Jenny Berg (MDA board member) Rob Stephenson (Chair, MDA Design Committee) 2. This Resolution and these appointments will take effect October 27th, 2016.

Adopted by the Common Council of the City of McMinnville at a regular meeting held the 27^{th} day of September 2016 by the following votes:

Ayes: Jeffries, Menke, Ruden, Yoder

Nays: _____

Approved this <u>27th</u> day of September 2016

MAYOR

Approved as to form: