

COMMUNITY DEVELOPMENT DEPT.

231 NE Fifth Street

McMinnville, OR 97128

(503) 434-7311

www.mcminnvilleoregon.gov

SENT VIA EMAIL

January 27, 2023

HD McMinnville LLC c/o Cristina Haworth, OTAK 808 SW Third Avenue, Ste 800 Portland, OR 97204 Cristina.haworth@otak.com

RE: Dockets HL 6-22, HL 7-22, HL 8-22 and DDR 2-22; Certificates of Approval for Demolition of Historic Resources at 609, 611 and 619 NE Third Street, and compliance with Downtown Design Standards and Guidelines for the Gwendolyn Hotel.

Dear Ms. Haworth:

This letter is to advise you that, at a meeting of the McMinnville Landmarks Committee on Thursday, January 26, 2023, your applications, for approval of a Certificate of Approval for Demolition of the historic resources at 609, 611 and 619 NE Third Street (HL 6-22, HL 7-22, and HL 8-22) and for the compliance of the Gwendolyn Hotel project with the City's Downtown Design Standards and Guidelines (DDR 2-22) were considered by the McMinnville Historic Landmarks Committee.

Based on the material submitted by the applicant, the testimony received, and material provided by the Planning Department, the Historic Landmarks Committee voted 3 to 2 to **DENY** your request for HL 6-22, HL 7-22, and HL 8-22 and voted 4 to 1 to **DENY** your request for DDR 2-22.

The Historic Landmarks Committee determined that your applications failed to meet the applicable criteria in state regulations and the McMinnville Municipal Code (MMC) per the attached decision documents.

Pursuant to Section 17.65.050(A) of the MMC, the decision of the Historic Landmarks Committee shall be final unless an appeal is filed.

Per Section 17.65.080 of the MMC, "Any appeal of a decision by the Historic Landmarks Committee, including an appeal of conditions placed on the approval of a Certificate of Approval by the committee, may be made to the City Planning Commission within fifteen (15) days of the

Letter Re: HL 6-22, HL 7-22, HL 8-22, DDR 2-22

Date: January 27, 2023

Page 2

date the written notice of the decision is mailed." The appeal shall be filed with the Planning Department and shall identify the decision sought to be reviewed, including the date of the decision and a statement of interest from the person seeking review specifying that they were party to the initial proceedings. If the appeal is filed, the Planning Commission shall receive a report and a recommendation from the Historic Landmarks Committee and shall hold a public hearing on the appeal consistent with the procedures in Section 17.72.120 of the McMinnville Zoning Ordinance.

If no appeal is filed with the Planning Department on or before February 13, 2023, the Historic Landmark Committee's decision is final.

If you have any questions or comments, you may reach me at (503) 434-7311.

Sincerely,

Heather Richards, PCED

Just fil

Community Development Director

HR

Attachments:

HL 6-22 Decision Document

HL 7-22 Decision Document

HL 8-22 Decision Document

DDR -22 Decision Document

c: Kira Barsotti (sent via email)

Shanna Dixon (sent via email)

Marianne Mills (sent via email)

Megan McCrossin (sent via email)

Courtney Cunningham (sent via email)

Jordan Robinson (sent via email)

Phyllice Bradner (sent via email)

Victoria Anderson (sent via email)

Patti Webb (sent via email)

Sylla McClellan (sent via email)

Meg and Zach Hixson (sent via email)

Sharon Julin (sent via email)

Daniel Kiser (sent via email)

Carol Dinger (sent via email)

Katherine Huit (sent via email)

Practice Hospitality (sent via email)

Kellie Peterson (sent via email)

JP and Ames Bierly

Letter Re: HL 6-22, HL 7-22, HL 8-22, DDR 2-22

Date: January 27, 2023

Page 3

Elizabeth Goings (sent via email) Abigail Neilan (sent via email) Ilsa Perse (sent via email) The Scott Family (sent via email) Mandee Tatum (sent via email) Crystal55dreams (sent via email) Peter and Linda Enticknap (sent via email) Karen Saxberg (sent via email) Jeb Bladine (sent via email) Nathan Cooprider (sent via email) Ernie Munch (sent via email) Marilyn Kosel (sent via email) Carol Paddock (sent via email) Michael Kofford (sent via email) Beth Caster (sent via email) Rachel Flores (sent via email)

Margaret Cross (sent via email)